PADMA with SAYDE BLACK and EDDIE WARREN at Trees Organic Coffee House on Granville

Eddie Warren sounds like a cross between Jack Johnson and John Mayer, with a little Sondre Lerche to boot. His music has a beautiful ambience that is hard to find in a solo acoustic artist. His strumming and picking style is creative and interesting, and he ends his set with an instrumental number that is mostly conducted on the neck of his guitar. Padma (who knows more about guitars than I do) thinks he could sound better on a different guitar, rather than the beat-up and duct taped one he is playing.

Sayde Black is too dolled up for this joint, but her music is far from pretentious. Her teal acoustic guitar is a perfect visual for the creative music and honest lyrics she writes. She can touch the high notes and has a good set of pipes when she employs them. “Tick Tock,” a song about the biological clock and not having babies, proves that her songs are a direct glimpse into her heart and mind. “Thief” has a driving urgency to it, and my heart runs to keep up. “Wish You Could’ve Been There” is about going out into this crazy world and getting what you want. “Shining Star” is a sappy love song Sayde wrote for her cousin’s wedding this summer. “Full of Shit” would be considered “the hip-hop song” on her album, and it’s another honest revelation to match the rest of her music.

Padma opens with an accapella version of his new song “The Bloke Downstairs,” which sounds like a political poem that is a good segue from the poetry reading before his set. Alternating between songs from his 2008 album Here and songs from his upcoming album, we get the best of Padma in this compact and well-balanced set. “Spacefood and Balloons,” from Here, is a true story about his lady, and one of the cutest love songs. New song “With My Friends” is then followed by Here classics “Pilot” and “Song for an Entryphone.” For another mountain song called “Firelight Dance,” Ryan (who read a couple of poems before Padma’s set) grabbed a tambourine to accompany him. We’re then asked if we’d like to hear an angry song or an inspired song. The crowd votes “angry,” so Padma plays one of the darker songs from his upcoming album. It’s called “Route 666,” and serves as one of his many warnings about the dire environmental circumstances we’re creating. He then plays a spin on a Woody Guthrie folk song, now called “This Land Was Made by You and Me,” which Padma described as “my usurped version about what we’ve done and what we’ve got to do.” Sitting under the tree in Trees, I can’t think of a better location for this music. Padma ends with “Throw My Drugs Away,” laughing about how he played the song for a friend once and he said, “No, don’t do that!” “Don’t worry,” assures Padma, “it’s hypothetical.” 

2. Tick Tock
3. Thief
4. Butterflies
5. Wish You Could’ve Been There
6. Shining Star
7. Full of Shit
8. I Believe 

1. Patience
2. Candle 

1. The Bloke Downstairs
2. Spacefood and Balloons
3. Mongrel
4. With My Friends
5. Pilot
6. Song for an Entryphone
7. Firelight Dance
8. Route 666
9. This Land Was Made By You and Me
10. Throw My Drugs Away

Comments (3)


  1. Padma says:

    Just a wee bit of a clarification! With Eddy’s guitar I wasn’t thinking of a different guitar – I meant a different guitar *sound*. He was doing some very cool finger-tapping techniques and I thought they would come across well with a bit of a fatter sound and possibly a delay pedal.

    Dan Arborise, one of the guys on the same label as me in the UK, does some amazing things live with an acoustic guitar, a loop unit and a delay pedal, and I was thinking about that when I was listening to Eddy’s set.

  2. John Pippus says:

    Thanks for the review Lauren. Good to hear about what I missed. You nailed Eddie’s sound and Sayde’s soulful delivery. But over dressed for Trees? Nah, the joint can always use a little dressing up!

  3. Sayde Black says:

    Lauren you do have a way with words…well written.
    thank you such a gracious review and lovely interpretation:)
    -Sayde Black